Lime Crime Lipstick Swatches + Review!

Hi everyone!

Anyone who knows me will tell you that I LOVE bright colours. The brighter, the better, in my opinion. And what’s more fun than bright makeup? Absolutely nothing! So it’s no surprise that I am in love with Lime Crime lipsticks at the moment.

For those of you who haven’t heard of the brand before, Lime Crime is a US-based makeup brand owned and run by Doe Deere. It has eyeliners, lip glosses, eye shadows, and glitter pigments, but the lipsticks are the real stars of the show. In a range of eye-popping shades, they are pretty much the bomb! They are matte, opaque, generally very creamy, and come in super-cute packaging.

I’ve had a couple of the lipsticks for awhile now, but the other day I heard the terrible news that LC has ceased all supply to New Zealand and Australia! For now we aren’t sure why, but once the stores that sell it run out of their current stock, the only way to get hold of any of LC’s products is to buy directly from their website. Now this isn’t fun when you live so far away from the US, as shipping costs an arm and a leg! So I decided to go on a wee spending spree while I could still buy from NZ suppliers, and came away with four yummy new lippies (and a much lighter wallet)!

The new ones I bought are:
Geradium
No She Didn’t
Airborne Unicorn
Serpentina

So I thought, why not take some swatches and photos of my new goodies so my lovely readers can see what they look like?

I have some eczema building up around my mouth at the moment, so my face is pretty much bare in these photos, as foundation + my eczema = a lumpy flaky mess. At least you get to see what the colours look like on average skin! Because not many people have the time to wear foundation every day! 😛

I’d like to add first that this is the first time I’ve photographed lipsticks with the plan to publish them, so sorry about the amateur look! Any suggestions would be wonderful. ❤

Lipsticks Boxed

Ahhhh, here they are! Here’s a closer look at the two types of boxes:

Box 1

This is the standard box, which is the same purple as the tubes themselves, with LC’s signature unicorn on the front. I didn’t get a picture of the inside, but it was lime green, which was a cute touch.

Box 2

This is the second box, which carries the limited edition lipsticks that came out for LC’s birthday release. It is a holographic silver, which you can sort of see in the picture, with a small unicorn and the words ‘Lime Crime 6th Anniversary’ on it.

Lipsticks UnBoxed

These came out of the boxes, looking all purple and pretty! One design has a full size unicorn, while the other design has two unicorns back to back. I personally like the second design, as it still looks cute, but looks a bit more grown up than the full sized unicorn. I like cutesy designs anyway, but I think that for someone who is used to the classic black designs of most other lipstick brands (eg. MAC), this might be a bit full on for them! The tubes seem sturdy to me, although I have read about some people’s tubes cracking, and I think that the designs might rub off if you let them roll around in your handbag for too long.

Lime Crime Lipstick: Geradium

Geradium LabelGeradium Bullet

Geradium is a coral pink, but with a difference: it’s neon. So neon that it doesn’t really look like any other pink I’ve seen. Like all of Lime Crime’s lipsticks, it has a distinctive candy scent that makes me want to eat it…

Geradium SwatchGeradium

You might notice that the colour is a bit muted on my lips. I’m not sure why this is, as other pictures online of this shade are much brighter, so I might put this one down to my skin chemistry. It’s still a gorgeous pink that really brightens up my complexion! A lot of pinks tend to lean towards the fuchsia end of the spectrum at the moment, so this lippy makes me very happy. The only downside to it is that it is quite chalky. These lipsticks are matte, which means that they are naturally more drying than others, but this one in particular was difficult to get smooth and even on my lips. I found that applying a bottom layer with a lip brush and then a top layer straight from the bullet gave the best results, so make of that what you will. It lasts a good amount of time, although I found that it bled a little if I didn’t apply a lip liner (I use OCC’s Anti-Feathered Clear Primer Pencil). I’d give this lippy 7/10.

Lime Crime Lipstick: No She Didn’t

No She Didn't LabelNo She Didn't Bullet

No She Didn’t is blue. Bright blue. In your face blue! This is my favourite of all my LC lipsticks. It’s absolutely stunning! I love how light the blue is: on the rare occasion that I’ve seen a blue lippy, it’s usually a very dark shade. This colour reminds me of a cloudless sky in the middle of summer…

No She Didn't Swatch No She Didn't

BOOM! This colour isn’t for everyone, and to be honest I got more than a few weird looks in the supermarket, but I’m so in love with it that I’ve worn it everywhere this past week. In natural light it looks a bit lighter than this, more of a baby blue than anything else. It is the creamiest of the four, and I could apply it straight from the bullet with no issues. If you want to wear an out there colour but your lips just aren’t in good shape, this is a good one to put on. Make the most of your bad lip day! 😛 It has a bit of a sheen, although it’s still definitely matte. This just won’t budge, even with no lip liner. I personally have a lot of trouble with colours bleeding out on my cupid’s bow, but this colour just doesn’t move. It also lasts through eating and drinking, although there is some fade. I even kissed my partner on the cheek, and I still had lots of colour left! Although their cheek ended up a bit blue… Woops! This is a definite 10/10 for me!

Lime Crime Lipstick: Airborne Unicorn

Airborne Unicorn LabelAirborne Unicorn Bullet

Airborne Unicorn is a candy/lavender/violet purple that kind of defies description! I’m on a purple lipstick buzz at the moment and have far too many of them, but this is a pretty unique shade.

Airborne Unicorn Swatch Airborne Unicorn

And we have lift off… Airborne Unicorn is a definitely cooler toned purple, and strangely it makes my teeth look whiter. (On a side note, has anyone noticed that one of my front teeth is longer than the other one? I think it’s kinda cute!) The colour is really beautiful on my pale skin, but I’ve seen some gorgeous pictures of people with dark skin where the colour just popped! I see a definite grey undertone in the colour against my skin, which I personally like and think adds to its uniqueness, but be warned if you have my skin tone and you’re looking for something a bit more purple. It has quite a wet look, which is surprising considering that it is marketed as a matte lipstick, but I think this has a plus side in that it’s quite easy to apply. I didn’t use a lip brush to put this on, and with a lip liner it had good staying power. It’s not as creamy as No She Didn’t, but compared to something like Poisonberry (which I also have and will make a post about sometime soon), it’s pretty moisturising. I’d give this a 9/10.

Lime Crime Lipstick: Serpentina

 Serpentina LabelSerpentina Bullet

Serpentina is a dark, metallic, forest green that to me just screams witchy fun! It has a definite shimmer to it, but it’s not too frosted to be unwearable.

Serpentina Swatch Serpentina

As you can see, I had a bit of trouble with keeping the line sharp on my bottom lip. My lips were pretty dry after all of my photos, so my eczema was irritated by this application. The colour is deep and vampy, and while it’s pretty shocking against my pale skin, I really like it. I think it would be great for Halloween, although knowing me I’ll wear it somewhere like the library… It’s sheerer than the others and needed a few layers to fully build up the colour, which is a downside as it uses more lipstick and the sheerer application looks a bit weak. It’s not too drying, but good lord does it bleed! Even with a lip liner it bled straight away. Perhaps this was my irritated skin? Obviously darker colours take more upkeep, but this is pretty difficult. Taking this into account, I give this lippy a 5/10.

So that’s my Lime Crime haul! I hope you all liked it! I am so in love with these colours, and while LC lippies might take a bit more work than others, they are definitely worth the effort. I’ll post a review of my other lipsticks sometime soon. 🙂

Love,
Dani

Leave a Reply

